Bad News Girl

I’ve been quiet for a while while I’ve been working on the next album. Here’s a taster of what’s to come – a song inspired by the behaviour of my ex wife.

I’m not bitter and twisted about it as it was a long time ago, but they do say that the best stuff comes when you write about stuff that’s been significant in your life. If you listen to the words, then you’ll know what I mean.

I played this recently to a guy I met on a cruise that I’ve got to know quite well. His comment was “Christ, mate! You’ve just written the story of my life!”

I used to think that I knew her quite well
Only goes to show you never can tell
She had her very own version of hell
On tap
Met her at a party she was all on her own
Never asked why but I guess I should have known
She looked real scary so I should have known better
Oh well!

Soon found out that she was one of a kind
Never ever knew what was going through her mind
She’s not all there – you’ll never guess what’s coming
Next
She’s been screwing around with the guy next door
Fooling around – and acting like a whore
You get to the point you can’t take any more
No way!

The girl is mental – She’s a bad news story
I got stuck with her then now I’m glad she’s gone
I wish I’d never met her but it’s too late for that
Too bad!
It’s like a real bad dream – but you never wake up
A loaded gun that’s being pointed your way
She’ll never listen to a single thing
You say

She stole my cash and she drank my booze
I know should’ve dumped her while I’d nothing to lose
Or maybe I should just have palmed her off on you

Leave a comment

Filed under Blues, Country, Rock

First comments are moderated to exclude trolling