Brexit Blues

I don’t know if something like this has been done by somebody else, but it seems to me that if Brexit is such a fuck up then it’s an ideal subject for a blues song. After all, it’s a pretty damn depressing situation.

Anyhow, as anyone who’s followed me for a while will know, I’ve always had a thing about writing songs around current affairs, politics, social issues and the like, so here goes nothing.

Crank up the volume and enjoy.

You can’t believe a politician
Can’t believe a word they say
They say they know what’s best for you
That’s how they get their pay
You don’t know who they work for
And they do just what they like
They are your lords and masters
And they tell you what to do
You know they want to frighten you
You know that’s what they do
To scare you into giving up
Although it isn’t true
They roll out project fear
They do it every year
It’s worked in other places
So it really should work here

They asked me what I wanted
They let me have my say
But they really couldn’t care less
Gonna do it anyway
I told you once I told you no
I got the answer wrong
It’s not the one they wanted
And it’s totally insane
Safer stronger better off
We know what’s best for you
It turned out weak and wobbly
And here’s what we’re gonna do
Safer stronger better off
It’s all a guess at best
Safer stronger better off
To hell with all the rest

There’s a right way and a wrong way
And mine’s the one that’s wrong
They are our lords and masters
And they sing the same old song
They bullied me and lied to me
So you could get their way
It was totally irrelevant
What I had got to say
Safer stronger better off
Nobody really knows
Strong and stable, weak and wobbly
Gets right up your nose
Yes we’re leaving, no we’re not
It’s all a pack of lies
Safer stronger better off
They’re telling porky pies
And if we tell them no
Then they’ll ignore the things we’ve said
And if we say we’ll go along
Then it’s full speed ahead
Never mind democracy
To hell with all of you

Leave a comment

Filed under Blues, Rock

First comments are moderated to exclude trolling