Greybeard

Here’s the title track from the next album which does seem to have developed a theme about being a bit of an oldie. It wasn’t intentional but then it might have something to do with my qualifying for my State Pension later this year?

I’ll get around to uploading it onto the music stores once I’ve sorted out the artwork but in the meantime just crank the volume up and enjoy a good old bit of rock ‘n’ roll!

Modern music just leaves me cold
People say it’s ‘cos I’m getting too old
Don’t play me hip hop or R&B
Load of junk is what it seems to be
I know the stuff that I like to play
So leave me alone and let me have my say
I got a grey beard, I got silver hair
My kids think I’m crazy but really I don’t care
I got the answer, I do it my way
I got rock and roll

Don’t worry about the things I’ve said
I don’t know what’s running through my head
Punching a clock is a thing I hate
I’m never been punctual and I’m always late
It doesn’t matter, doesn’t matter a damn
I’m too busy being who I am…!
I got a grey beard, I got silver hair
People look through me like I’m n ot even there
I don’t care, I do it my way
I got rock and roll

Meet people – don’t know who they are
When I go for a drink down my favourite bar
Laughing and joking ‘til it’s time to leave
Then can’t remember where I parked the car
Walking home, all alone
Catchy tune running through my head…
I got a grey beard, I got silver hair
They all think I’m senile that I’m not all there
But I ain’t crazy ‘cos I know what I like
And I like that rock and roll

I got a Les Paul Custom and a Fender Strat
I got aviator glasses and a real cool hat
I got an AC30 with real valves
And a HiWatt amp on a six foot stack
Crank it up and let it rip
Let’s hear that rock and roll!
I got a grey beard, I got silver hair
They say I’m too old to rock but I don’t really care
I’ll prove ‘em all wrong and I’ll play what I like
‘cos I love that rock ‘n’ roll

I got a grey beard, I got silver hair
You know I’m gonna keep rocking ‘cos it’s only fair
That I do what I love and I love what I do
‘cos I love that rock ‘n’ roll

Leave a comment

Filed under Rock

First comments are moderated to exclude trolling

