Who Am I?

A song with lyrics by myself and Tony Groves. Who am I? Good question.

In a land of strangers with ways hard to know

Isolation, frustration, continually grow
Alone every day, alone every night

Life full of nothing, no friend in sight
Trapped in a place where nothing is right

Trapped in the dark and screaming for light
Depression for meat, sorrow for drink

A spirit embittered, how low can it sink?
I’m a pile of junk mail landing on your mat
I’m the left over food that you fed your cat
I’m the faded letters on a roadside sign
I’m a broken clock that can’t tell the time
I’m the curtain you pull across your window pane
I’m the price you pay for your moment of fame
I’m the broken switch on your bedroom light
I’m the bed that you fall asleep in at night

Try to be positive when everything’s wrong

Try to stay calm, but it doesn’t last long
Try to be nice, but keep filling with rage

Pouring out vitriol, page after page
Temper uncertain, thoughts tinged with madness

Once there was hope, now there’s only sadness
Today or tomorrow, all seem the same

Nothing to lose, but still less to gain
I’m the crap you bought at the shopping mall
I’m the dirty boots that you left in the hall
I’m the man on the telly in the shiny suit
I’m the tune you play on a broken flute
I’m the ads on the telly between the shows
I’m the poor lost soul that nobody knows
I’m the last cigarette that you dropped in the street
I’m the unshed tear that you tried to weep

I’m the left over food that you fed your cat
I’m a pile of junk mail landing on your mat
I’m the poor lost soul that nobody knows
I’m the ads on the telly between the shows
I’m a broken clock that can’t tell the time
I’m the faded letters on a roadside sign
I’m the unshed tear that you tried to weep
I’m the last cigarette that you dropped in the street
I’m the bed that you fall asleep in at night
I’m the broken switch on your bedroom light
I’m the price you pay for your moment of fame
I’m the curtain you pull across your window pane
I’m the dirty boots that you left in the hall
I’m the crap you bought at the shopping mall
I’m the tune you play on a broken flute
I’m the man on the telly in the shiny suit
Who am I?

Leave a comment

Filed under Lyrics by Tony Groves, Pop

First comments are moderated to exclude trolling

