New Tricks

I thought is was time time to try something different, so I was messing around on the Strat and came up with this.

Distorted guitar and a simple drumbeat with and overlaid solo and single vocals. Might even be able to play it live. You never know.

You can teach a dolphin to jump through a hoop
You can teach a hunter the best way to shoot
You can try and tell me what I should think
But you can’t teach an old dog new tricks

You can disagree with everything I say
You can try and persuade me there’s a better way
You can tie me down and beat me with a stick
But you can’t teach an old dog new tricks

Maybe you could show me how to ride a horse
Or how to play around on the golf course
There’s things about me you might wanna fix
But you can’t teach an old dog new tricks

I don’t wanna change the world to my way
I don’t wanna stop you from having your say
Wanna do what I do and think what I think
‘Cos you can’t teach an old dog new tricks

I’m too long in the tooth to change my ways
I’m too old to wanna do things any other way
I’ve been ding my thing for too many years
And you can’t teach an old dog new tricks

You can’t teach an old dog new ticks

Leave a comment

Filed under Blues

First comments are moderated to exclude trolling

