Dark Place

An uptempo blues song about loneliness and despair and cheery stuff like that with lyrics by my good friend Tony Groves and a video by my usual video producer, Dioclese.

Turn the volume up and rock along! Enjoy it and try not to get too depressed.

Sometimes I go to a dark place
I go there all alone
I hear no friendly voices
Not even on the phone
The dark place isn’t cosy
Bed of nails cold
Makes me feel lonely
Crushed and sad and old

No walls or locks to hold me
The darkness has to keep
A dungeon in my head space
Awake or fast asleep
Dark place full of torture
Thoughts both old and new
Dreams a jagged landscape
Chilled as morning dew

Killers serve their time out
Whilst robbers they walk free
Life sentence no remission
The dark place gave to me

The dark place is my prison
A jail built just for me
Dark place a heavy curtain
Through which I cannot see

Though searching for the sunshine
Those rays of hope and joy
The dark place drops the shutters
That’s not for you my boy

Sometimes I go to a dark place
I hear no friendly voices
Alone in my dark place

Leave a comment

Filed under Blues, Lyrics by Tony Groves, Rock

First comments are moderated to exclude trolling

