Dreary Dreary Me

Another collaboration with my favourite lyric writer, Tony Groves.

Tony reckons I like songs about misery and drinking and stuff like that and I suppose he might have a point. The way I look at it is that I write about things that interest me or that I have experience of. I avoid love songs unless they’re vitriolic. Mainly because even though I have a wonderful wife, I’m just no good at them! They always come out as syrupy crap.

So here’s another song about misery and drinking. Thanks, Tony.

Alcohol for dinner
Alcohol for tea
Deary deary deary
Deary deary me.
Another weekend vanished
Disappeared in boozy mist
Deary deary deary
Deary deary pissed.

When the darkness falls and the black dog bites
And the days seem hard but harder the nights
When hope is far and despair too near
And nothing is left but worry and fear
When nightmares are all you get from sleep
And you wake at dawn and start to weep
When your trust in people has crashed on a reef
And a loved one smiles and kicks you in the teeth

Didn’t eat at all day
No not a single crumb
Deary deary deary
Deary deary dumb.
Booze, it is my downfall
Or is it my fall down
Deary deary deary
Deary deary clown.

When friends turn away and leave you in pain
And your heartbeat’s thunder and your tears like rain
When karma deals you another dead hand
And your plans go awry like a rocket unmanned
When you can’t see the point of waking each morn
And you try to be brave though feeling forlorn
When fate takes away that last friendly face
And even your God will show you no grace

Why can’t I take it easy
And just apply the brakes
Deary deary deary
Deary deary shakes.
I sees to me I cannot stop
No, no no matter what
Deary deary deary
Deary deary twat!

It doesn’t make me clever
Doesn’t make me tough
Deary deary deary
Deary deary rough…
I promise I won’t drink again
Until the day I die
Oh deary deary deary
Such a deary deary lie!

Leave a comment

Filed under Lyrics by Tony Groves, Pop, Rock

First comments are moderated to exclude trolling

