Better Off Dead

Someone bet me that I couldn’t write an upbeat, cheery song about suicide – and I just love a challenge.

After all, if James Blunt can write about depression and frame it with a video of him committing suicide by jumping off a cliff and then end up with it becoming a best seller and the most popular song to play at a wedding…

Just goes to prove that people don’t listen to our loving crafted and deeply thought out lyrics doesn’t it?

Happy New Year!

Under the weather, behind the times
Sick and tired of waiting for a sign
Nobody knows what’s going through my head
Watching people talking, wondering what they said

Better off, better off dead
Thoughts of suicide running through my head
I’m better off, better off dead
Life ain’t so great
I’m better off dead

Paranoia, watching my back
Persecution mania, cut me some slack
Life’s a struggle, it’s bringing me down
Times are hard on the wrong side of town

Better off, better off dead
Thoughts so dark, my brain’s turned to lead
Can’t help wondering if I’m better off dead
Is it worth it?
Am I better off dead?

Evil people – ruling our land
Politicians – a lying little band
Life’s a struggle but it’s all that we got
Death’s uncertain so be happy with your lot

Better off, better off dead
Thoughts of suicide run through your head
Better off, better off dead
Nobody knows if you’re better off dead
Make the best of things – get it through your head
Otherwise you’d be better off dead
Better off dead

Leave a comment

Filed under Pop, Rock

First comments are moderated to exclude trolling

