Lorelei

A strange song inspired by my old friend Paul Wakely who wrote the lyrics to ‘Every Step Different’ on my last album.

Story goes that he and his daughter wrote a song years back called ‘Rock and Roll Mermaid’ which he was going to dig out of his archives and send to me – except that he couldn’t find it! This coincided with my messing around with open tuning after reading Keith Richards’ autobiography and then listening to a his solo albums.

This was then made worse by a friend of mine pointing me to an old album called ‘The Land of Blue and Grey’ by Caravan.

So Lorelei was basically the result of a bit of hippy dippy flower power shit mixed with some Stones’ guitar style and, in the true spirit of the 60s, some crap lyrics!

I was sailing on the ocean just the other day
When the sound of the Lorelei was drifting my way
Half woman, half fish – she really was a dish
She got long blond hair and ruby red lips
Man what a woman! I looked her up and down
38-22 and 12/6 a pound

So was it all dream? Was it really what it seems?
Awake or sleep? I can’t tell what it means
Sometimes I wonder what’s going through my head
All kinds of stuff while I’m lying in my bed

Driving down the road in my pink Cadillac
Three ugly women sitting in the back
Waving to the people walking down the street
Pushing on the pedals with my two left feet
Was it all dream? Did it go without a hitch ?
Am I living in luxury or lying in a ditch

Sometimes I wonder what’s going through my head
All kinds of stuff while I lie in bed
Am I awake or sleep? I can’t tell what’s which
Is this life a gas or is it simply just a bitch?

Up in the air or down on the ground
Looking at that sun going round and round
Ever had the feeling that you don’t know where you are?
Going round the golf course at thirty under par
What do you do when you’re feeling pretty high
Do you pop another pill without wondering why

I watched her wander through the garden hedge
Half a glass of vodka balanced on her head
She said Are you hungry? I asked her why
But then she disappeared in the blink of an eye
There’s a weird helicopter hovering up in the sky
Say! Can you really see it and can it really fly?

Was it all dream?
Was it really what it seems?

Leave a comment

Filed under Pop

First comments are moderated to exclude trolling

