Bears

Another lyric by Tony Groves continues the ‘Old Friends’ album.

I think this is about the world getting on top of you, which is definitely something I can relate to from time to time.


Right click here to download this track

Read the words and then maybe you can explain it to me :

The world’s so full of bad news, it’s twisting up my head

I think I’ll take two aspirins and retire to my bed

Conspiracies and crime and leaders oh so bad

All whirl around my brain box and it’s making me quite mad

Honesty is terminal, truth bleeds out its life

On a planet torn by violence and hunger, pain and strife

It makes me oh so angry to look upon this trash

And it’s given me a headache and a nasty little rash

Restful sleep eludes me, thoughts a boiling pot

Peace of mind, some gremlin has taken all I’ve got

Calm and cool two gentle moods I lost a long time back

My shrink don’t know just where they went, so I’ve given him the sack

I think I need a holiday, a break from rotten news

A stroll along the promenade to lengthen up my fuse

I’d love to leave this city, to go live by a wood

If I ever have the wherewithal, I think I really should

Where’s the point of fretting and grinding down your teeth

Go and fly a kite down on the common or the heath

But watch out for the bears, hiding in them there trees

They’re not the kind that eat you, but they’ll have you on your knees

Leave a comment

Filed under Lyrics by Tony Groves, Rock

Leave a Reply

